Pre-configured system screens are available to system administrators. These screens collect common data, such as the HUD HMIS Data Elements. These screens are not editable but can be copied to create custom screens. System administrators can create custom screens, either by copying and editing system screens or creating new ones.
To view existing screens or create a new one, click on the Launchpad and navigate to Setup > Screens (figure 1).
The Screens tab is divided into two sections: Screens and Inactive Screens. The Screens section lists all active screens in the system. The Inactive Screens section lists any screen that are saved but have an "Inactive" Status.
Each section is divided further based on the Screen Type.
If you want to create a screen based on an existing screen, you can use the Copy function.
|Note: when copying and modifying a screen identified as System, please check with our Technical Support Team before deleting any fields to avoid incomplete data for Federal reporting (if applicable).|
Once you click the Copy icon (figure 1), the copied screen will appear in the list of screens. You can then click the Edit icon to modify.
Creating New Screens
To create a new screen, click Add Screen (figure 3).
Enter a Screen Name and Screen Type.
You can either make the screen available to any agency or a specific agency in the Agency field.
Select a status:
- Active will make the screen available for use by agencies
- Inactive will allow you to save the screen without making it available
Once all fields are complete, click Add Record to continue editing the screen.
Structuring the Screen
The following customizations can be made to screens:
- Add Labels
- Add Fields
- Add Spaces
- Merge Fields
Labels can be added to organize the fields in a screen.
To create a label, click Add Label (figure 5). A pop-up will appear, prompting you to enter a title. Once you enter your label title, click Save. A label cannot be more than 255 characters in length.
- You can edit your label at any time by clicking the Edit icon.
- You can delete a label by clicking the trashcan icon.
If you already know the name of the field, enter it into the Field Library search box located in the right toolbar (figure 6).
You can also enter a keyword (e.g., "Household"). After clicking Search, a list of related fields will appear.
Select the Add icon next to the appropriate field to add it to the screen.
Only fields existing in the Field Library will display in the search results. For information on creating custom fields, see Creating and Editing Custom Fields.
|Note: the fields Date of Birth, First Name, Last Name, and Social Security Number are automatically collected at record creation, cannot be added to custom screens, and can only be edited in the Client Profile. Similarly, while the field Gender is not automatically collected at record creation, the field can only be collected in the Client Profile, and it can be added to custom Client Profile screens. The live markers Gender and Age can be usedTo add date of birth or gender information to a screen other than the Client Profile. While these live marker fields will not be visible from the user interface, they can be used for constraints and calculations in screens.|
If a response is added for a field in Screen Editor and saved (figure 7), that response will automatically display in the screen in the user interface when a staff member completes the screen. The response can be modified by the user, unless the field is hidden or made read only.
Clicking Add Space (figure 8) creates a line to separate fields. When you click Add Space, a blank space will appear at the bottom of your screen. You can then click and drag the space to the desired location.
Merging fields in a screen will cause two fields to display on the same line in the screen in the user interface. To merge fields, click the Merge Icon (figure 9).
The field will be merged with the field directly above it.
If you would like to separate two merged fields, click the icon .
Note: if a field needs to be edited, this should be done prior to merging, as it cannot be edited while merged.
Screen Configurations for Assesessments
The following options are available in Assessment screens only:
Toggling on Eligibility Engine allows the responses to fields in an assessment to be matched against eligibility criteria for a program. After that assessment is completed in a client record, the user will see a list of programs the client is eligible for based on the responses to the fields in the assessment.
When Eligibility Engine is toggled on, additional options will display (figure 11).
When Display Score is toggled on, the assessment score (if applicable) will display on the screen in the client record. When toggled off, a text box labeled Alternate Text will appear. In this box you can add the text that will display on the screen instead of the score.
When the screen is completed and saved by the user, the alternate text, rather than the score, will display (figure 12).
By default, the score will be set to display.
The assessment processor is a tool that allows the assessment to be scored. One or more assessment processors can be assigned to a screen (figure 13). For more information about assessment processors, see the Help Center Assessment Processors article.
When Coordinated Entry is toggled on for an assessment, the fields used to collect the data for 4.19 Coordinated Entry Assessment are automatically added to the screen (figure 14). For more information about Coordinated Entry screens, see the Help Center article Coordinated Entry Screens.
Recent Assessment Warning
When toggled on, system administrators can indicate within what time period a warning should display for staff members attempting to complete an assessment already completed in the client record.
The following rules apply for this warning:
- Only looks at completed, active (not deleted) assessment records in the client record
- Compares the completed assessment’s Assessment Date field against today’s date
- Includes both client and program-level assessment records
- The assessment record doesn’t need to be completed by the staff member’s agency, but it must be shared with the agency
When all criteria are met, a warning will display in the client record when a staff member clicks Start for the assessment that reads: "A recent assessment of this type already exists for this client. Are you sure you wish to create another assessment?"
If the staff member clicks Ok, they will be navigated to the assessment. If they click Cancel, they will remain in the Assessments tab.
Screen Editor Icons Based on Screen Field Editor Settings
When system administrators make certain configurations to fields in Screen Field Editor, the field displays in Screen Editor with specific icons:
Once you have finished creating your screen, click Publish (figure 10). The screen will be saved, but not available to users until it's published.
Editing Existing Screens
To edit an existing screen, hover over the row and click the edit icon (figure 15). Note: editing a screen will impact all agencies using the screen.
To delete a screen, hover over the row and click the trashcan icon (figure 16). Note: if a screen is currently assigned to a template or agency, it cannot be deleted.