Sharing Groups allow Agencies to share specific types of client data with another Agency or groups of Agencies in specific, customizable ways. System Administrators can allow Agencies to share data uniformly with all other Agencies by exclusively using the Default Group, or set up more complex networks of sharing, by using additional Sharing Groups. We’ll look at both options and discuss best practices around the use of Sharing Groups.
The Default Group
All Agencies automatically belong to the Default group. At a minimum, System Administrators need to establish how data is shared with other Agencies in the Default Group. To edit these Sharing settings, hover over Default Group until you see the edit icon (figure 1).
If Sharing Groups Controlled has been selected for Clients Created (as noted in Sharing Defaults: Clients Created, setting Clients Created to “Sharing Groups Controlled” is the recommended setting), you will see the configuration options for Clients Created, along with the other components of the record controlled in Sharing Groups (see Introduction to Sharing Client Data in Clarity Human Services for an overview of each record component and how its settings impact Client data sharing).
Selections made for each component of the client record dictate how data created by that Agency is shared with all other Agencies in the Group. These selections do not impact the sharing of data entered by Staff at other Agencies for the same record components.
Creating and Managing Sharing Groups
When an Agency wishes to share at different levels with different Agencies, additional Sharing Groups can be created to accomplish this.
Sharing Groups are created first in System Setup. To access an existing Sharing Group or create a new one, navigate to the launchpad, click Setup, and click Templates. Under Template Tools, locate and click Sharing Groups (figure 2).
You’ll see any existing Sharing Groups in your system listed here, which you can modify by hovering over and clicking the icon. You can also delete any unused Sharing Groups by hovering over and clicking the delete icon (note: you’ll only have the option to delete Sharing Groups that are not actively assigned to an Agency).
To create a new group, click Create a New Sharing Group (figure 3).
Name your Sharing Group and set the Sharing settings for each record component. Note that you’ll be able to modify these settings once the Group is added to an Agency. Once you’ve finished configuring your Sharing Group, click Save Changes.
Adding a New Sharing Group
Once a Sharing Group has been created in System Setup, it is available to add to Agencies. Navigate back to the Agency you would like to add the Group to by navigating to the launchpad, clicking Manage, and navigating back to Sharing.
Within the Agency’s Sharing settings, click Add Sharing Group (figure 4).
Locate the Sharing Group from the drop-down menu. Once the Group is selected, the other fields auto-fill with the selections made for each record component in System Setup.
Important: The Sharing Group must be added to another Agency for the settings to apply. While all Agencies are, by default, part of the Default Group, the only way for additional Sharing Group settings to apply is to add the Group to an additional Agency or Agencies. Once the Group is added to other Agencies, the settings of that Group will only apply to the Agencies to which the Group was added.
Modifying Sharing Settings within a Sharing Group
As just noted, for the Sharing settings of an additional Sharing Group to apply, that Group must be added to the Agency’s Sharing settings. Once the Group has been added, further configurations can be made to how an Agency is sharing data with other Agencies in the Group.
In figure 5, you’ll see the Sharing Group configuration for two different Agencies that both have the same Sharing Group added to their Sharing settings. Since both Agencies are part of the same Sharing Group, they will both be able to see client data entered by Staff at the other Agency. However, Staff at Agency B will not be able to see Notes added by Staff at Agency A, while Staff at Agency A, will be able to see Notes added by Staff at Agency B.
Sharing Rules With Multiple Sharing Groups
When an Agency belongs to more than one Sharing Group, it is possible for that Agency to be set up to share the same client record component in more than one way with the same Agency or Agencies. When this is the case, the more “open” level of sharing overrides the more “closed” level.
For instance, in the example earlier, both Agency A and B are part of the Default group as well as an additional Sharing Group. If Agency B has Notes set to “Not Shared” in the Default Group and “Full Shared” in the added Sharing Group, Notes added by Agency B are fully shared with Agency A.
Changing Sharing Settings
If an Agency wishes to change the way data is being shared with an Agency at any point, this can be configured within Sharing Groups. These changes are applied to all historical data that has been created by the Agency, as well as any new data entered after the change is made.
Up Next: Agency Exceptions