This section discusses how to configure Sharing Defaults.
Sharing Defaults are used to control how your agency shares client information with other agencies. Any settings created in the Sharing Default section will be applied to every outside agency. If you have certain agencies that require unique Sharing settings, please refer to Working With Agency Exceptions.
Setting up Sharing Settings
The information in this section discusses Sharing Defaults in general. Sharing Defaults can be applied to individual agencies (discussed here) as well as Sharing Groups. Sharing Groups allow separate network groups to share a particular configuration of Sharing Defaults. This eliminates the need to create separate sharing defaults for agencies that share the same settings. It also eliminates the need to create multiple individual sharing exceptions for multiple agencies.
To manage Sharing Defaults, go to the Launchpad and select Manage > Sharing. You will find the Sharing Default section at the top of the screen. Click Edit beside the Default Group.
The sharing options for each category are: Not Shared, Basic Shared, Full Shared. These settings are discussed below in context of each setting.
Clients Created refers to the client profile information that is collected at intake.
- Not Shared- other agencies will not be able to see that the client profile exists at all in Clarity Human Services.
- Basic Shared- other agencies can view the client’s demographic information only.
- Full Shared- other agencies will have full access to view all information on the Client’s Profile screen.
Service/Programs/Assessments Placed refers to any service, program or assessment transaction.
- Not Shared- other agencies will not see any information from your agency in the client's History Tab
- Basic Shared- other agencies will see that service, program and assessment transactions have occurred, view the details of these transactions. (The view will be like the Full Shared image below, but staff will not be able to click the view button.)
- Full Shared- other agencies will have full access to all information, and can edit if the user's access role allows.
When Help Center agency is set to Full Shared for Service/Programs/Assessment Placed, Staff members from other agencies can select the View or Edit button (depending on Access role of the user) to access all of the services/programs/assessments made by Help Center Agency.
If the Help Center is set to Basic Shared for Service/Programs/Assessments Placed, other agencies would see the Service Name, Start and End Dates, but not have the option to View or Edit the rest of the program information.
These settings include Client Notes and Public Alerts, which can be found in the Notes tab of the client profile, as indicated in the screenshot below.
- Not Shared- other agencies cannot see that your Agency has created Public Alerts or Client Notes.
- Basic Shared- staff from other agencies can see that your agency has created a note, but not the contents of the note.
- Full Shared- staff from other agencies can view the contents of the note, and edit depending on the user's accessrole.
Files refers to the Client Files and Client Forms that can be downloaded and stored in the Files tab of the client record.
- Not Shared- other agencies cannot see any documents that have been uploaded by the agency.
- Basic Shared- another agency will be able to view and download the Client Files and Client Forms, but cannot delete them.
- Full Shared- other agencies will be able to view and modify client files.
Location refers to the Location tab in the Client record. This tab documents various types of address (e.g. home, work, mailing, etc).
- Not Shared- no location information entered by your agency will be shared with other agencies.
- Basic Shared- other agencies will be able to view the client's address and date the address was created.
- Full Shared- other agencies can view the details of the client's location.
Departments allow agencies that house multiple programs to secure each independently.
For example: An agency has two programs: Program A and Program B. A staff member might be associated with Program A, but should not be able to have access to Program B. The System Administrator can configure this staff member to not have access to Program B, even though Program B is within the same agency. In this scenario, the System Administrator can assign any combination of restrictions (block case notes, restrict delete rights, etc.)The department sharing blocks/allows access to Services, Programs, Notes, and Files but all other rights (e.g. deleting) are still controlled by the access role the user is assigned to.
In this section, you have the ability to enable or disable Departments. If you set Departments to Enabled, and Agency Departments section will appear below Agency Exceptions. To configure departments, refer to the article on Departmental Sharing.
The clients created section decides the method of the sharing settings for clients created. The options are Not Shared, Sharing Groups Controlled, or System Shared.
- Sharing Groups Controlled- This is the option that was used in the above examples. If this is selected, Clients Created will be an option under Default Group and different client created sharing settings can be selected for various Sharing Groups.
- Not Shared- Clients will not be shared across the system. No other agencies will be able to see the clients your agency creates.
- System Shared- Clients will be shared across the system. All other agencies will be able to access the clients created by your agency.