Release Date for All Training Sites: April 9, 2019
Release Date for All Production Instances: April 16, 2019
Bitfocus is excited to announce new feature updates for Clarity Human Services! These updates are summarized below.
Several Help Center resources have been updated with this release. Please visit the links included in each feature summary for guidance on implementing these new features. You’ll find this guidance in the “New Features” section of each resource.
New Contacts Tab and Enhanced Location Tracking
Documenting a client’s location history and contact information are both important elements in connecting clients with services. Several developments have been made to facilitate this, including a new client Contacts tab and the ability to associate a date with each client location. The following updates have been made to Clarity Human Services:
Separate Client Contacts from Location Tab
A new tab has been added to the client record: Contact. This tab allows users to track contact information for a client separately from the Location tab, reducing clutter and allowing for more streamlined viewing and reporting.
Required Action: To learn how to track client contact information using the Contact tab, see How Do I Create and Maintain Client Contact and Location Information?
New Date Field in Locations
To help communities better track a client’s history of homelessness, a new field has been added to Client Location to record a date in association with a Location. Now, if a user is recording a location a client previously resided at, they can notate the historical date associated with this location.
Required Action: For more information about recording client locations, see How Do I Create and Maintain Client Contact and Location Information?.
Expanded Customization Options for your Coordinated Entry Systems
New options for customizing user access roles in Referrals, concealing assessment scores, and expanded referral notifications mean even more ways to customize Clarity Human Services to meet your community’s unique coordinated entry needs. The following new features are available:
Refined Access Control for Coordinated Entry Referrals Screen
Clarity Human Services aims to enable System Administrators the ability to refine user access rights to fit the custom needs of each program. Recognizing the unique needs of communities in implementing coordinated entry systems, user access for each tab in the Referral screen can now be customized.
Required Action: Please see the New Features section of Community Queue for System Administrators for further guidance on customizing user access on the Referrals screen.
Ability to Hide an Assessment Score and Display Alternate Text
Clarity Human Services now has the ability to hide an assessment score so it won't appear in the Eligibility Determination screen or a client's program Assessment History. If you choose to conceal an assessment score, you can replace it with alternate text.
Required Action: For instructions on enabling this new feature, please see the “New Features” section of Creating New Screens.
Notification Option for Expiring Referrals
When a pending referral has expired, users will now receive an email notification alerting them that the referral has expired.
Required Action: This enhancement occurs automatically, with no required actions from System Administrators. The Help Center resource Community Queue for System Administrators has been updated to reflect this change.
Ability to Keep Contact Information Warning Active for Clients with a Pending Referral
The alert notification for clients without contact information has been expanded. In addition to notifying users if the client has no contact information when they’re in the Community Queue, users will now also be notified of this when a client has a pending referral to a program.
Required Action: This enhancement occurs automatically, with no required actions from System Administrators or Managers. The Help Center resource How Do I Create and Maintain Client Contact and Location Information? has been updated to reflect this change.
Cascading Data Between Assessments And Enrollments
Cascading data, or enabling data to auto-populate across a client record, helps simplify the data entry process, freeing up time to interact with clients. This powerful feature has been expanded to include cascading data between assessments and enrollments, resulting in a more streamlined data entry process for Clarity Human Services end users.
Required Action: This feature is enabled at the program level. For additional details, please see How To Set Up A Program: Detailed Instructions.
Warning Option for Individual Enrollments Under a Specified Age
Preventing the enrollment of individual clients under a specified age means less data clean-up later. Clarity Human Services can now warn users when clients under a certain age are being enrolled.
This new feature allows System Administrators to set an age limit for individual enrollments so that users will receive a warning when they are about to enroll clients under a certain age into a program.
Required Action: This feature must be enabled at the program level. For additional information, please see How To Set Up A Program: Detailed Instructions.
Enhanced HUD Compliance in Auto Exit Feature
For non-residential programs using the Auto Exit feature, a client’s exit date will now correspond with the last date of service. With this update, we’ve changed the Auto Exit logic for programs with a Site Type of "Non-residential: services only”. When this Site Type has been selected, a client's Auto Exit date will automatically be recorded as the last day a service was provided to the client in that program. This complies with the HUD requirements for 3.11 Project Exit Date.
Required Action: This enhancement occurs automatically, with no required actions from System Administrators. The Help Center resource, How To Set Up A Program: Detailed Instructions, has been updated to reflect this change.
New Access Right to Delete Reservations on Availability Tab
The deletion of a reservation includes two steps: deletion from the availability tab as well as the pending tab. If a reservation is only deleted from the availability tab, it will remain on the pending tab, which can create confusion about the status of the reservation. System Administrators will continue to have the ability to delete reservations, but other users’ access to this action must now be enabled.
Required Action: Further guidance on enabling this user access can be found in the Reservation Management resource.
Ability to Track Deleted and Filled Units
To facilitate in-depth data analysis, a distinction has been made in the database between deleted and filled units.
When an open unit is posted under the availability tab and is subsequently removed by being either filled or deleted, the resulting data stored in the database will distinguish between these two events. This creates the ability to filter out units that have been deleted and shouldn't be counted in analysis.
Required Action: This update occurs automatically, with no required actions from System Administrators.
Resources Referenced in this Update:
- How Do I Create and Maintain Client Contact and Location Information?
- Community Queue for System Administrators
- Creating New Screens
- How To Set Up A Program: Detailed Instructions
- Reservation Management