Where a referral displays in the Global Referrals tab is impacted by its Status. The Status field communicates information about whether a referral has been accepted, if the client is in the process of being enrolled in a program, or if the referral has expired.
|Note: the status of referrals in the Community Queue cannot be manually updated until the referral is re-assigned to a program. The status of a referral in the Community Queue can automatically change to "Expired," however, if the Inactive Referral Expiration Threshold is met.|
Updating a Referral’s Status
Note: the Status field is only editable when accessing the referral from the Global Referrals tab. It cannot be edited from the client record.
To update the status of a referral, navigate to Search > Referrals.
Locate the referral you would like to update the status for (the status of a referral can be updated from the Pending, Sent, and Denied tabs.)
Click the edit icon next to the referral (figure 2).
Scroll down to the Status field. Here you’ll see your status options (figure 3).
Updating from the Pending Tab
The status of a pending referral can be updated to "Pending - In Process", "Denied" or "Expired".
If “Denied” is selected, additional fields will display (figure 4).
- Denied by Type: allows the user to indicate if the referral was denied by the agency (“Provider”) or if the client declined services (“Client”).
- Denied Reason: the reason the referral was denied. This field is required.
- Denial Information: a text box to record a note about the reason the referral was denied. This field is required.
|Note: when a denied referral is saved with a response of "yes" to Send to Community Queue, a new referral will be generated. the old referral will display in the Denied tab.|
Updating from the Sent Tab
A user may wish to update the status of a sent referral if the client later declines services, it is concluded the referral was not appropriate, or the staff member has been tasked with updating the referral by the referred to agency. Users can update the Status of a referral from the Sent tab with any status (figure 5) (as long as the sent referral is not currently on a Community Queue, or did not auto-generate a new referral to a queue).
Updating from the Denied Tab
If a denied referral was denied in error, the referral status can be updated, which will cause it to show up under the appropriate tab. Users can update the Status of a denied referral from the Denied tab with any status.
Updating the Status of Expired or Completed Referrals
Once a referral's status has been set to "Expired", it can only be manually updated from the Sent tab.
If a referral has been manually updated with a Status of "Completed", the status can only be manually updated from the Sent tab. If the referral resulted in a program enrollment, causing it to display in the Completed tab, and the enrollment connection is deleted, the referral status will automatically be set to "Pending".
Sending a Referral to a Community Queue when Updating the Status to “Denied” or “Expired”
When updating the Status of a referral to "Denied" or “Expired”, staff members have the option of sending the referral to a Community Queue. When denying a referral, this option is only available if the Display Option to "Send to Queue" at Denial setting in Referral Settings is configured to allow it to. If the referral was originally made to a Community Queue, indicating “Yes” to Send to Queue will create a new referral to the Community Queue the original referral was sent to. If the referral was a direct referral, the user will select which Community Queue the new referral is sent to (if Multiple Community Queues are configured, there will be more than one option to choose from). A selection of “No” will not create a new referral to the Community Queue. Regardless, the original referral will display in the Denied tab.
|Note: the new referral that is sent to a Community Queue will have the same information as the original referral but a different referral ID.|